top of page
  • Writer's pictureJonathan Burns

Technical Decisions


Pain management is an exciting specialty of dynamic technological breakthroughs and new procedures that help treat patients and eliminate their pain. Often these procedures are minimally invasive, requiring only the deft handling of a needle and an instrument to get the device to the right place to alleviate pain and suffering. One such procedure is a spinal cord stimulator. It involves placing a catheter in a patient’s posterior epidural space in their spine. The catheter has electrodes in it that stimulate the dorsal columns in the spinal cord to eliminate the patient’s pain. The procedure offers hope for many patients who may have given up otherwise. It is a quick procedure to perform, generally under an hour to do, but can have enormous consequences for patients.

I first learned to perform the procedure in my pain management fellowship and immediately recognized its value. I remember patients astonished their pain almost completely disappeared after undergoing the procedure. Some patients broke down in tears of joy that their pain was gone. It made a big impression on me and has been an important part of my practice for the past 14 years. As a clinical faculty instructor at University of Nevada School of Medicine, it is the procedure I enjoy most demonstrating to medical students. They are often dumbfounded at the procedure and amazed to see patients’ response. The surgical implant provides a great hands-on experience for the students and empowers them to look for ways to treat patients’ pain in their future careers they may not have thought of.

But it wasn’t until a few years ago that I began working with one of the stimulator companies to help train other physicians to perform the procedure. In my role as a consultant, I help other physicians identify suitable candidates, master the technical aspects of the procedure, and troubleshoot for when things go wrong. I find it very rewarding and enjoy it quite a bit. It is a different aspect of my career and one that I am proud of.

For me, it is an unlikely partnership. I had never considered working with industry and instead lived by the mantra of “the patient is the priority.” While this is true – patients are certainly the most important thing in any physician’s practice, I came to realize that helping to train other doctors, much like helping to train medical students, is important for patients as well. Most doctors are not aware of spinal cord stimulators and some pain management providers are intimidated by the device. Bridging the gap for other physicians and providers to make this life-changing procedure more accessible is helping patients. Perhaps not directly, but access to care makes a big difference.

Another consideration for me was the idea of “selling out.” Some patients and other doctors look at others who work with industry as only profiteering from a relationship with the medical device industry. This kept me away from wanting to work with industry as I didn’t want to be seen that way by others. But when I realized I could really make a difference in other physicians’ practices and improve lives of many many other patients, I felt it was important to partner with a medical device company I believe in with a device I believe in. I think it is important to use the gifts you have for the benefit of others and working with the medical device industry has helped me do that.

Are there career choices you have made that are surprising to you? Have you changed your mind about certain pursuits in your career after careful consideration? Share in comments below!

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page